Project team members

The University of Sheffield

University of Kent

University of Melbourne (previously at Office of Health Economics)

Steering group

The steering group is comprised of individuals with experience in the area of quality of life and wellbeing outcomes measurement across health and social care. The steering group also represents key stakeholders for any future instrument.

They meet face to face to advise on key decisions arising during the project. They have opportunity to comment on the work undertaken by the team in each of the six stages of the project.

E-QALY steering group members

  • Professor John Brazier (Chair), Dean of ScHARR, the University of Sheffield

  • Professor Jo Cooke, Deputy Director and Capacity Lead, NIHR CLAHRC Yorkshire and Humber

  • Professor Brian Ferguson, Chief Economist, Public Health England

  • Dr Donald Franklin, Head of Commissioning Incentives and Policy, Commercial Directorate, NHS England

  • Nancy Hey, Director, What Works Centre for Wellbeing

  • Jonathan Kilworth, Social Care, Business Intelligence Partner (Adults and Housing), Harrow

  • Dr Andrew Lloyd, EuroQol Group, AcasterLloyd Consulting Ltd, Bladon Associates Ltd

  • Dr Bhash Naidoo, Senior Technical Adviser (Health Economics) – NICE Centre for Guidelines, National Institute for Health and Care Excellence

  • Professor Alicia O’Cathain, Director, Medical Care Research Unit, ScHARR, the University of Sheffield

  • Professor Jan Abel Olsen, Chair of the health services research unit at the Institute of Community Medicine, University of Tromsø, Norway

  • Dr Mark Oppe, Senior Scientist, EuroQol Research Foundation

  • Professor Simon Pickard, EuroQol Group, Director, Graduate Studies, Departments of Pharmacy Systems, Outcomes and Policy, College of Pharmacy, University of Illinois at Chicago

  • Professor Andrew Stevens, National Institute For Health and Care Excellence, Professor of Public Health, University of Birmingham

International team

Stage 3 (face validity) of the project took place in five other countries alongside the work in England.


  • Federico Augustovski (PI)

  • Maria Belizan

  • Rocio Rodriguez

  • Luz Gibbons


  • Brendan Mulhern

  • Lidia Engel


  • Wolfgang Greiner (PI)

  • Simone Kreimeier

  • Ole Marten

  • Kristina Ludwig


  • Nan Luo (PI)

  • Zhihao Yang


  • Simon Pickard (PI)

  • Andrea Monteiro

  • Maja Kuharic